top of page

Lifesaving Society Bronze Medal Awards

At Swim Safe 306, we offer Lifesaving Society's Bronze Awards: Bronze Star, Bronze Medallion and Bronze Cross. 


The Lifesaving Society Bronze Medal Awards provide a fun and challenging progression of lifesaving training. These courses are designed for swimmers between 12 and 15 years of age, or older. 

Lifesaving Society Bronze Star (10 hr.)

Develops swimming proficiency, lifesaving skill and personal fitness. Candidates refine their stroke mechanics, acquire self-rescue skills, and apply fitness principles in training workouts. Bronze Star is excellent preparation for success in Bronze Medallion and provides a fun introduction to lifesaving sport.

Prerequisite: Passed Star Patrol or equivalent ability.

Lifesaving Society Bronze Medallion (20 hr.)

Challenges the candidate both mentally and physically. Judgment, knowledge, skill, and fitness – the four components of water rescue – form the basis of Bronze Medallion training. Candidates acquire the assessment and problem-solving skills needed to make good decisions in, on, and around the water. Bronze Medallion is a prerequisite for assistant lifeguard training in Bronze Cross.

Prerequisite: Minimum 13 years of age or Bronze Star certification (need not be current).

Lifesaving Society Bronze Cross (25 hr.)

Begins the transition from lifesaving to lifeguarding and prepares candidates for responsibilities as assistant lifeguards. Candidates strengthen and expand their lifesaving skills and begin to apply the principles and techniques of active surveillance in aquatic facilities. Bronze Cross emphasizes the importance of teamwork and communication in preventing and responding to

aquatic emergencies. Bronze Cross is a prerequisite for advanced training in the Society’s National Lifeguard and leadership certification programs.

Prerequisite: Bronze Medallion (need not be current).

bronze star.jpeg
bronze medallion.jpeg
bronze cross.jpeg
bottom of page